top of page

Review on Faber Castell Classic colored pencils

drawing with Faber Castell Classic red box colored pencils.

on top of the bird adding pigment using prisma cp. on Canson 1557 A3 size Ref from Pixabay

Review

Faber Castell Classic- red box colored pencils set of 72

Product made from china by faber castell factory

cost RMB98 (around USD15)

video clip real time length 3.11 hr. Whole background take me around 7-8hr.

1.

Refer to my color chart video (youtube: https://youtu.be/ajAm8UMSQZY) it contain enough pigment. However, it can not compare with the rich pigment from polychromos. After all it cost only 1/7 to 1/9 of those from polychromos

2.

I could draw as many layer as I wanted. It wont saturated easily. I add dark blue- light yellow- dark green-black. otherwise:

adding yellow - light blue- green - dark red - black

I can layer as much as I wanted to (not like lyra rembrandt which saturated after 5-6 layers)

3.

adding OMS wont change its color.(Not like prisma. For prisma, some color change tone after applying OMS such as dark purple change to sharp purple, pink change to deco pink) after It dry up, I could add more pigment on top

4.

there is no lightfast rate. It is fair as the cost is so low. I need to apply fixature if it was to be hang on the wall.

5.

black color is not black enough. I could add blue,red,green beneath but it is still not black enough.

I use them to draw grass on Canson paper. youtube video:

https://youtu.be/M6gWivxm5Js

To Conclude, for a piece of pencil which cost only 20 cents of USD (therefore USD0.2), that passed every necessary safety standard and break resistant too. this is beyond 100% satisfy. I do not expect lightfast as this is not supposed to be.

Faber castell sell it in such a low price because this is really designed for kids from China. For this cost, almost every family from all different classes could afford to buy a set of 72(or 24) for their kid. I love them for providing such a good, safe and affordable coloured pencils for kids all over the world.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page