top of page

Comment on Holbein Artists colored pencil


Pelican, using Holbein cp on Oct 2019

Here is my drawing of #Pelican this week.

I complete it by using

ホルベイン画材株式会社/Holbein colored pencils,

Derwent Art drawing pencils - black

on hardboard nameless card. 6.5 square inch.

ref from website Pixabay photographer- Hypnomedi

----------------------------------------------------------

Holbein colored pencils is oil base (learn from web suggested using soy bean oil) To my knowledge, Holbein did not pass US toxic test thus cant be purchased in USA.

Holbein is not a new brand in Japan, it last for more than a century (foundation :1 Sept 1900).To me, such a long tradition Japan brand would always stick with their reputation. These colored pencils is legal and fulfilled all requested rule in Japan.

My personal opinion is - Holbein released these artistic pencils decades ago, solely for Japan local market. We ought not blame the brand for not design nor intend to change ingredients to pass through US toxic request. After all, these pencils are not designed for USA market. They expect it for only local use.

To me, artistic pencils is a kind of artistic material - these are not a toy and not expected to be swallow.

-----------------------------------------------------------

In Conclude -

- Holbein cp is rich in pigment

- very smooth and solid. - dont need to be sharpen as much as prisma pencils(wax base)

- there are 6 cold black, 6 warm black, 1 lamp black, 1 black, however, even the darkest Black, is not dark enough for desired black tone. These translucent characteristic is embedded in oil base cp category. I need to use derwent drawing pencils color black (wax based) for the darkest sharp. Otherwise, I may use Prisma black or Carand ache Luminance black as substitute.

- can hold a sharp point as the core is hard enough. - 150 color available. for lightfast grading artistic quality cp, only prisma available for such variety of color for selection.

-quit expensive price tag. the price per pencil is almost as expensive as Caran Dache Luminance 6901 series.

my utube video clip where I use Holbein to draw my bunny in 2017:

my using of Holbein to draw my bunny(his name: doubt doubt)


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page